Do you want to be a mermaid or a whale?

I received this message via email and thought it was worth posting. So here you go:

A while back, at the entrance of a gym, there was a picture of a very thin and beautiful woman. The caption was “This summer, do you want to be a mermaid or a whale?”

The story goes, a woman (of clothing size unknown) answered the following way:

“Dear people, whales are always surrounded by friends (dolphins, seals, curious humans), they are sexually active and raise their children with great tenderness.
They entertain like crazy with dolphins and eat lots of prawns. They swim all day and travel to fantastic places like Patagonia, the Barents Sea or the coral reefs of Polynesia.
They sing incredibly well and sometimes even are on cds. They are impressive and dearly loved animals, which everyone defend and admires.

Mermaids do not exist.

But if they existed, they would line up to see a psychologist because of a problem of split personality: woman or fish?
They would have no sex life and could not bear children.
Yes, they would be lovely, but lonely and sad.
And, who wants a girl that smells like fish by his side?

Without a doubt, I’d rather be a whale.

At a time when the media tells us that only thin is beautiful, I prefer to eat ice cream with my kids, to have dinner with my husband, to eat and drink and have fun with my friends.

We women, we gain weight because we accumulate so much wisdom and knowledge that there isn’t enough space in our heads, and it spreads all over our bodies.
We are not fat, we are greatly cultivated.
Every time I see my curves in the mirror, I tell myself: “How amazing am I ?! “

9 Responses to “Do you want to be a mermaid or a whale?”

  1. singlegirlmodernworld Reply October 5, 2011 at 19:20

    I love this! I work at a college and am doing a “love your body” campaign soon and this is something I’m certainly going to share.

  2. This is so great! i thought this was going to be one of those,”you are fat, quit making excuses” kind of posts. I never thought of looking at it that way.

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

  3. This is lovely. Thank you. She is strikingly gorgeous, and I love what you wrote below. Nice work! Very important. If she was wearing a bathing suit or some sort of coverage, I would show this to my kids in class and have a conversation with them about it on body image, media, etc. Not that she is immodest here, I love it; just some of thier parents would disprove. You know…

    • Is is lovely indeed. Thank you for your kind words, but the comments below are not mine, they were included in the message itself. Unfortunately, I do not know who the author of those words is, or else I would have given this smart woman credit.

  4. Nice read,

    I came across your blog from your twitter account.

    My name is Sabri Hakim, I work @ Jeeran.com and would like to get in touch with you, if possible, can you email me at sabrih@jeeran.com

    Regards,

  5. I think that this post is horrible!! Why is it that today’s society feels it necessary to codone and even promote poor dietary and lifestle choices?? Why is it okay to be lazy and unhealthy? You want to know a little something…. about fit, healthy, and yest even skinny women… we “prefer to eat ice cream with my kids, to have dinner with my husband, to eat and drink and have fun with my friends” and do all of these things…. We just exercise afterwards. We teach our children that cookies and sweets are okay… IN MODERATION! That healthy = happy and that choosing indulgence everytime isn’t the best thing. So when young girls read blogs, posts, and tweets that glamourize “plus size”, “curvy”, “thick” women all it does it promote UNHEALTHY habits. I think that if you are going to promote a particular body as what’s beautiful choose one that is HEALTHY… which is probably not the obese woman! Eveyone can be beautiful, but that doesn’t make them healthy.

    • Skinny doesn’t equate to healthy, nor does fat. Healthy comes in a variety of shapes and sizes.

  6. This is beautiful and makes me smile :)

  7. BEAUTIFUL , ! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

